Genelec Community Forum has been archived

Thank you for all the years of Community discussions and activity!

The time has come for us to retire the community forums, but we will keep everything available for reading. There is a lot of valuable content written over the years, and you'll be able to access all of that. However, no new posts can be written, or old posts modified.

If you have questions, we recommend you use the Support function on the bottom right corner to contact our Customer Support directly.

Alternatively, if you wish to engage in a community discussion with other people, there are many active forums available. There is also an active, fan managed GENELEC COMMUNITY in Facebook, and many Genelec employees are active in the discussions there.

We are sorry for any possible inconvenience this may cause you, but we hope to hear from you through the other channels mentioned above.

Genelec Support

Keskusteluryhmät

Should GLM close when you close main window?

andy-johnson-laird, muokattu 11 Vuodet sitten.

Should GLM close when you close main window?

Youngling Viestejä: 13 Liittymispäivä: 21.12.2010 Viimeisimmät viestit
Mac version 1.4.1 of GLM software.

If you click on the red circle with a cross at the top of the main window, it closes the window and also closes the GLM application so you no longer have control of the speaker network.

Should it really do this?

Page 222 of the Apple Human Interface Guidelines suggests, as GLM continue to provide a useful function (namely of controlling the GLM network and allowing gain control via a Powermate) that it should not:

In most cases, applications that are not document-based should quit when the main window is closed. For
Example, System Preferences quits if the user closes the window. If an application continues to perform some
function when the main window is closed, however, it may be appropriate to leave it running when the main
window is closed. For example, iTunes continues to play when the user closes the main window.


See PDF available at http://developer.apple.com/library/mac/ ... PartI.html (emphasis added).

As it is, if you inadvertently close the main Window (thinking you're just going to remove it from the screen), you lose control of the GLM network, and have to reload the application, and go through reloading the previously saved configuration before you can regain control of the gain control.

If it is deemed that it really is appropriate to close the Application and lose the functionality it provides, would it make sense to at least warn the user what is about to happen?

Regards
Andy
ilkka-rissanen, muokattu 10 Vuodet sitten.

Re: Should GLM close when you close main window?

Yoda Viestejä: 2564 Liittymispäivä: 23.3.2009 Viimeisimmät viestit
Mac version 1.4.1 of GLM software.

If you click on the red circle with a cross at the top of the main window, it closes the window and also closes the GLM application so you no longer have control of the speaker network.

Should it really do this?

Hi,

Yes, that is how it works. It is not against the design principles of Apple, of course depends on the interpretation. But I understand what you mean, so let's see what can be done.


As it is, if you inadvertently close the main Window (thinking you're just going to remove it from the screen), you lose control of the GLM network, and have to reload the application, and go through reloading the previously saved configuration before you can regain control of the gain control.

If you accidentally close down the GLM, the quickest way to load the setup is to create a shortcut on the desktop that points to the system setup file (setup_name.glm). That will take you straight to the GLM main window.

If it is deemed that it really is appropriate to close the Application and lose the functionality it provides, would it make sense to at least warn the user what is about to happen?

Good idea! We haven't got this kind of feedback yet, though we have been told not to have any unnecessary dialog windows... :)
andy-johnson-laird, muokattu 10 Vuodet sitten.

Re: Should GLM close when you close main window?

Youngling Viestejä: 13 Liittymispäivä: 21.12.2010 Viimeisimmät viestit
Hi Ilkka:

To follow up on this thought, but from the start up point of view, do you think it would be worthwhile to be able to start up GLM "silently" -- that is without any user interaction and using the last settings?

I reboot my Mac Pro's fairly frequently and GLM appears to be one of the few programs that demands user interaction at startup. In contrast, for example, the Euphonix EUCONTROL program simply starts up, connects to the control surface, and is ready for use -- it uses the last known surface/soft key settings. These can be overridden by the user once the system is up and running.

Just a thought -- but it would seem to make GLM just that much easier to live with.

Regards
Andy
kimmo, muokattu 10 Vuodet sitten.

Re: Should GLM close when you close main window?

Youngling Viestejä: 9 Liittymispäivä: 8.8.2010 Viimeisimmät viestit
Hi Andy,

It's quite easy to start GLM during start-up sequence. Open System preferences - Accounts - Login items and just add setup-file to items list.

Best regards,

Kimmo

ps. I have to support you in this red button issue - if you close the Autolink application from red button It just hides and the program is still running, but behavior is different for GLM. What is the logic behind the different logic? ;) I have closed GLM quite many times accidentally.
hachre, muokattu 10 Vuodet sitten.

Re: Should GLM close when you close main window?

Padawan Viestejä: 27 Liittymispäivä: 23.9.2011 Viimeisimmät viestit
If it is deemed that it really is appropriate to close the Application and lose the functionality it provides, would it make sense to at least warn the user what is about to happen?

Good idea! We haven't got this kind of feedback yet, though we have been told not to have any unnecessary dialog windows... :)


Then the best solution is to add one of those "Don't warn me again" kind of checkboxes to the warning dialog and not to forget to add a "Reset all warning dialogs" button in the preferences :)