Message Boards

Upgraded from 6010a/5040 to 8040b - subwoofer?

lwr999, modified 6 Years ago.

Upgraded from 6010a/5040 to 8040b - subwoofer?

Youngling Posts: 6 Join Date: 2/10/15 Recent Posts
Love my Genelecs

Use them only for listening to music in my office with FLAC and streaming sources like TIDAL. I'm not a producer, mixer or anything fancy. Just a humble programmer making his way in the world...

I loved my 6010s and 5040 combo, and I'm enjoying the upgrade to the 8040b

I do feel that I might be missing some of the "warmth and feeling" of the 5040 subwoofer. I love the sound of the 8040s, but I feel that I am too easily able to locate the sound. With the 6010/5040 combo the sound filled the area I was working with.

It's a small room, 4.5m by 4.5m and my speaker sit on a desk in the middle of the room 1.4m apart in a nearfield config.

Would adding a 7060b subwoofer bring more "warmth and feeling", or am I still adjusting to what the 8040b offer?

Would the sub be overkill in the small room or would it add something?

The advice might be to demo. But I'm not a demo kind of guy... would prefer an objective view on whether adding the sub will improve the soundstage.

If it helps, I listen mainly to jazz - some modern stuff with bass extension, but nothing super low

Thanks!
1038, modified 6 Years ago.

Re: Upgraded from 6010a/5040 to 8040b - subwoofer?

Jedi Master Posts: 340 Join Date: 4/6/09 Recent Posts
In a small room, maybe consider adding the new 7350. Although it wont have the output of the 7060, it will extend your LF performance, but the big thing is to be able co calibrate the sub to the environment.

Thanks Steve - I couldn't easily track down a 7350 ... an I think it might be out of my price range.

I bought a 7060b subwoofer ... it's sitting under my desk. Just waiting for the XLR cables to turn up from Amazon.