Message Boards

Monitor Break-in ... Myth or Mantra ?!?!

auralphoenix, modified 4 Years ago.

Youngling Posts: 4 Join Date: 11/10/11 Recent Posts

Hey Everyone,
I am happy, :D and it shows ...

I finally got 'em home and powered them on, my new Genelec 6010A pair, the last link in the chain of my recording and production suite I have been assembling very very painstakingly for the past 2 years at home. And the subwoofer 5040 arrives in a few days to complete the set-up. I intend to get to know these lil' babies really well, you know ... get my ears used to them, before I shift them over to an acoustically treated, symmetrical and well-isolated room that i'm building ... The AuralPhoenix Atelier, a project-studio-of-a-kind. More on that later ...

Till then, it's the bedroom that they call home ...

Now, I been reading some very interesting discussions about the "breaking-in" of new monitors. This took the cake ...
http://www.gearslutz.com/board/so-much-gear-so-little-time/546399-using-pink-noise-burn-speakers.html
http://www.gearslutz.com/board/so-much- ... akers.html

My dealer says, " Just Plug-n'-Play man, stop reading the internet. My forum friends say, " Tell your dealer to grow up, stop being ignorant." Hmmmm, who's right ?!?! :roll: :?

I do undersand I'm being a lil' extra careful, :geek: but I don't mind. I like to call it "Attention to Detail". I'll be bordering on some obsessive-paranoid trait soon though, unless this is sorted lol. :mrgreen:
Just kidding....I worked hard to afford them and I intend to get them going well and maintain them ...that's all :)

So would someone please tell me, Is it needed to play frequency sweeps and/or pink noise for a considerable period of time to break them in ?!?!

If so ... How long ?!?! How finely and steadily do I increase the volume of either/or frequency sweeps and/or pink noise ?!?!

Or does Genelec recommend just "Plug-n'-Play" ?!?!

How much do I need to turn up the levels at the back and how steadily ?!?!